Tags

, , , , ,

Vaguely Asian. More of a distant nod, and that only because of two ingredients: cumin in the couscous and soy sauce in the ‘marinade’.

I have to say, I love kebabs. Not the greasy from-a-van-in-a-pita-I’m-drunk-you’re-my-best-friend-I-love-you-I-do kind (and before anyone starts, the difference between these and those served as part of Turkish cuisine is undoubtedly huge, and I’m not slating Türk mutfağı in any way!) of doner kebabs. Rather, kebabs cooked and served on skewers. Shish kebab.

Anyway. This week it was decided that we’d purchase some diced meat of some description and skewer them up and grill away. I’d hoped for lamb, but beef would’ve done, or chicken. Because I am, at heart, as lazy as sin itself, I purchased diced leg of pork for the simple expedient of not having to cut up my own meat (First World Problems …). In a twist of irony, I had to trim some of the chunks anyway as they were so large – keeping the chunks roughly the same size ensures that the kebabs cook evenly and at the same time.

I didn’t really plan this meal. It more just evolved at the last minute. If I’d thought about it, I’d’ve included some garlic and lemon juice in the ‘marinade’ and left it for longer. As it often happens, I threw everything into the plastic tray the meat came in (saving on washing up here – Nigella & Delia would be proud!) and left it for mere moments.

Ingredients:

1lb/460kg diced pork (this will make approximately 10 kebabs with 3 cubes on each one) – feel free to substitute chicken, beef, lamb, tofu, fish or just lots of different vegetables

1 red pepper, chopped into large ‘squares’

1 red onion, chopped into large ‘squares’

Marinade:

Olive oil

Worcestershire sauce

Soy sauce

Salt & Pepper

(Feel free to add spring onion, honey, lemon juice, garlic, ginger, lemongrass, chilli – whatever else you want!)

Couscous:

200ml chicken stock

1tsp cumin

100g couscous

Few leaves chopped mint

Method:

Make sure your cubes of meat are of roughly the same size. Add marinade ingredients together and leave the meat to soak.

Preheat grill (I have 4 settings, and had it on 3 – make of that what you will!).

Thread veggies and meat onto skewers (I used bamboo skewers, and went red onion – meat – pepper – meat – pepper – meat – red onion) and place onto grill pan. Place under pre-heated grill.

Meanwhile, mix together the chicken stock and cumin, and pour over the couscous (you can add other things to the couscous at this point – small chopped veg, herbs, sultanas). Cover tightly and leave.

Turn the kebabs a few times during cooking to ensure that the meat cooks evenly. Mine took about 20-30 minutes because I’m a bit paranoid about pork being cooked all the way through – but feel free to sacrifice one or two chunks for testing!

Fluff couscous with a fork, add in the chopped mint, and serve!

Image

I have to confess that I also served with some chopped cucumber and halved pomodorino tomatoes.

