Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Occasionally I’ll cook something and as I’m part way through I think “Damn, I should be taking some photos of this in case its good enough to blog”, and then console myself by thinking that I can at least take a photo when its all done, or at least remember it for next time.

Today was one of those. Only without the final presentation photo.

Sorry.

So back to the food …

There are a great many reasons to love Spring. The promise of warmer weather. Flowers. Little baby animals. Men in t-shirts. Rhubarb.

One of the other things I happen to love about Spring is green garlic.

P1100935

What is green garlic? Basically, its the shoot of the garlic, before the clove you’ve planted starts to make a new bulb. The taste? Its garlicky, obviously, but softer than than from a bulb. You can use it as a replacement for spring onions (scallions) or for bulb garlic. I used it two ways in the dinner I prepared tonight …

First was in the marinade for the pork steaks, and second was added to the pommes parmentier (as a side-note, I’m not providing the recipe to that here … in the interests of brevity, I shall link you thusly, and simply state that I mixed it up a little bit with the addition of some fried pancetta, a couple of diced shallots and instead of the rosemary and sea salt, I used a stem of the green garlic and some pink Himalayan salt).

The pork steaks were marinated for several hours in a mixture of:

  • 1 tspn Dijon mustard
  • 1 tspn ginger preserve
  • 1 small stem of green garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 small green chilli, diced
  • Splash of soy sauce
  • Splash of toasted sesame oil (mainly because we were out of olive oil!) 

The marinade was discarded (I’m sure that I could have made it into some kind of sauce, had I been thinking) and then the steaks were grilled for perhaps 10-15 minutes, turning occasionally.

The pork and the potatoes were joined on the plate by some spinach leaves that I’d wilted in the frying pan the potatoes had been fried in, and that was it!

The mustard and garlic gave a rather delicate flavouring to the pork, and cooking under the grill (I should point out, for any Americans reading this, that when I say “grill” the equivalent is “broil”) with turning it every few minutes stops it drying out.

 

