Tags

, , , ,

Many moons ago a gauntlet was … well, it wasn’t thrown down … it was more tossed aside like an old tissue. Upon this tissue (work with me here) was written a challenge based upon the rather spiffy Smitten Kitchen Cookbook.

I don’t believe that this is a challenge to see who is the superior cook (eeep!), but rather to each pick recipes that we wouldn’t normally otherwise cook and use it to expand our repertoire, experience and confidence. Which has to be a bit good, right?

Kat has rather splendidly created a marvelous post about making the actual muffins over here … and included some rather swishy photography. Due to that, I am not going to even attempt to outdo her blogging skills.

Suffice to say that I agree with the comments regarding the consistency of the mixture, and I spooned and not poured into the cases. Also … apparently I have been short-changing my friends as I managed to get 12 muffins out of the mix, and not the 10 that Kat professed to have made … Maybe she’s just more generous than I am!

Now mine are out of the oven and have cooled a bit, I can give you a bit of a lowdown …

Image

Good flavour. Very good consistency. Perhaps 2 tablespoons of poppy seeds might be a touch too much, and I’d even go so far as to add more fruit and a squidge more of the spices, but those are more down to personal taste than anything else!

 Image

Top choice, Kat! I guess its my turn to find something new and exciting …..!

