Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am going to say straight away that there isn’t anything magical or revolutionary about this method for making brownies. If you want that, try here.

A few weeks ago I was wandering around the supermarket minding my own business (i.e. silently judging other people’s shopping) when I spied something I’d never seen before: Mortimer Chocolate Company Pure Dark Chocolate Powder.

2014-02-05 15.32.14Feeling somewhat cocky – and attracted by the ‘free’ recipe on the back – I tossed it into my own trolley and off I went, thinking of chocolate brownie goodness (and also – “sustainably sourced”), although I wasn’t entirely sure of the difference between ‘chocolate powder’ and the normal ‘cocoa powder’ I already have at home, but it did seem to have different (i.e. fewer) ingredients than the ‘hot chocolate drink powder’ so that was a good thing (hot chocolate drink powder does not happy chocolate baking make).

2014-02-05 15.35.20

 

Mortimer Chocolate’s website offers information about the company (as you’d expect), products (four different chocolate powders from Ecuador, South America, Ghana and West Africa, as well as white ‘couverture’ powder – which is basically white chocolate but as it doesn’t contain dairy EU regulations mean it can’t be sold as such, and an oil-free mixture for chocolate fountains and fondues!) and recipes for both sweet and savoury dishes.

And the result? I’m not going to lie to you – they were good brownies.

Ingredients

  • 100g Mortimer Chocolate Powder
  • 125 g butter
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 75g plain flour
  • 2 eggs

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180C and line a 9″ (23cm) square tin
  • Melt butter over low heat and whisk in chocolate powder until combined.

2014-02-05 15.39.51

  • In a bowl, beat together eggs and sugar.

2014-02-05 15.43.28

  • Stir in melted chocolate.

2014-02-05 15.44.52

  • Sieve in the flour and beat until smooth.
  • Pour mixture into the lined tin.

2014-02-05 15.50.24

  • Bake for 20 minutes.

2014-02-05 16.12.04

 

 

