Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I had a plan for this afternoon that involved raspberry macarons, but in the end decided that all that egg-white faffery was beyond me right now (hey, I did housework … that counts for something, right?). Despite that, I still wanted to bake something. Plus we had fajitas last night (pause to wipe drool) so had half a pot of sour cream left over.

And we all know what sour cream goes great in …

Unfortunately my camera was playing silly buggers, and none of the in-flight photos are any good (clearly the camera’s fault and not Mr. Gin Hands who was behind it) so there’s only the one shot of the post-oven glory.

However, you can still have the recipe. How good is that?!

The basic recipe came from my (now don’t laugh) The Australian Women’s Weekly Muffins recipe book, but me being me, I had to tweak it a little bit. It could do with some more tweaking actually – like upping the amount of chocolate (ergo the ‘ish’ part). I replaced half a cup (for it is, indeed, measured in cups – albeit Australian ones) of flour with half a cup of the Mortimer Chocolate Company chocolate powder that I had left over from the brownies. I’d also like to up the flavour ante with some flavoured chocolate (mint or honey …).

Ingredients

  • 2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup chocolate powder
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 90g butter, melted and cooled slightly
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 100g chocolate chips + few more for scattering

 

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180C. Line muffin pan. (Recipe seemed to imply this recipe would make six … I managed to get 16.)
  • Combine flour, chocolate powder, coconut and sugar in a bowl.
  • In a separate bowl combine the melted butter, sour cream, milk and eggs.
  • Slowly add wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined.
  • Add in the chocolate chips (reserving some for scattering on top, if you wish) and stir through.
  • Spoon into muffin cases and scatter with reserved chocolate chips, if using.
  • Bake for approximately 20-25 minutes.
  • Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes before cooling completely on a wire rack.

2014-03-27 17.10.38

