Tags

, , , , , , ,

I think my mum would be an awesome partner for somebody doing Foodie Penpals. She manages to find the weirdest things to send me.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ungrateful. And I have used the pink Himalayan salt she sent to me, and I have used the Indonesian long peppercorns on a couple of occasions.

1529895_10151897591588595_331439517_o

A month (or so) ago I mentioned in passing on the phone that I was running out of salt. (Don’t ask me why that would ever be a topic of conversation.) So she sent me these:

2014-04-08 19.03.22

Apologies for the shoddy photo work. But one is a nice pepper mill, full of 5 different peppercorns. The other … is a mill with both salt AND pepper in it. Presumably in some kind of ratio that makes sense to somebody. Why they couldn’t make the bottles the same size I don’t actually know. But I like the weirdness of them.

And the … almost Art Deco-ness of them reminds me of this box of sea-salt caramels I bought back in January when I was there. Mainly because they’re made by the same company: À la table de Mathilde. Ahem.

1890429_10151996648053595_1847808690_o

Anyway … yesterday my dad popped round to deliver some bits and bobs (okay – a box of plants, a fruit cake and assorted sundries) and in amongst the eggs, plant pots and pot scrubbers (again with the not asking) there were these two corkers:

2014-04-08 19.02.12

On the off-chance that you don’t speak French and/or can’t make sense of it even if you do, the one on the left is a mix of chili and chocolate, and the one on the right is ginger and garlic. How am I going to use them? I have no idea. I guess the chilli & chocolate one would be good for chilli con carne. And some kind of rub for poultry with the other one?

If you have any suggestions then please let me know!

