Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Another amazing month for me and Foodie Penpals!

I was buying for the absolutely lovely Joan Grady all the way up in Scotland! I managed to get it bought, packed and posted before the Easter holidays messed up the post too much and it got there even quicker than I imagined! Luckily Joan seemed to enjoy the somewhat sweet parcel, so I’m very pleased!

The package I received was from the supremely amazing Selina of Thrift Street Life. Her package concentrated on North African/Middle Eastern cooking as not only is it a cuisine that I have been reading about lately but one that she loves.

51OdKDN23ML._SY300_The first casualty was the packet of Snapea crisps. I’d never come across these before, but they are ‘crisps’ made from peas. Yes, peas. They even look like peapods, which I thought was cute! They were eaten before I could take a photo – hence the stock photo of the packet! They’re made by a company called Harvest Snaps (US site here: Harvest Snaps – and if you’re in the US then it might be worth checking out their Promos section!).

Then came the spice blends. Wow. Firstly, a jar of Ethiopian Berbere – which is a hot spice mix which is so beautiful – and ground in Yorkshire! Secondly, a jar of Palestinian za’atar – a mix of thyme, oregano, sesame seeds and sumac. Selina recommends mixing it with olive oil and using as a dip for pittas or “sprinkled on everything”. I like it!

2014-04-30 10.07.15

Next up is the halva. I have to say, I’ve not encountered halva before – this one is a sesame-based confection (other types can be semolina-based) flavoured with grape juice and sultanas. I’m waiting for when the nice weather returns to sit outside and enjoy this with the sunshine!

2014-04-30 10.07.43

There was also a box of tricolour couscous – golden couscous with grains infused with tomato and spinach – which, as Selina says, is a little different from the norm.

To add to my collection of fruit teas, there were some lychee and some pomegranate tea sachets from Israel/Palestine.

Most wonderfully there were two little sachets of dried rose petals from The Spicery. They are the most amazing company, offering a wide variety of spices, blends and recipe kits. Selina suggested using the rose petals in a tagine, but I am also thinking of using them in a spice blend for a curry …

2014-04-30 10.09.41

Thank you Selina and Joan for another fantastic Foodie Penpal month!

